Smith County voters may cast their ballots at any of the 34 polling locations

Smith County voters may cast their ballots at any of the 34 polling locations

SMITH COUNTY, TX (KLTV) - Smith County: 

Smith County voters will be able to cast their ballots at any of the county's 34 polling locations on Election Day, March 6.

From 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday, Election Day locations will be open across the county, at polling locations in Tyler, Arp, Bullard, Flint, Hideaway, Lindale, Troup, Whitehouse and Winona. For a complete list, visit here. 

During the two weeks of early voting, 12,925 people cast their ballots at five polling locations in Smith County. That is up from the March 2014 Primary Election, when 11,804 total early votes were cast.

The current Primary Election includes contested races for U.S. and State Representatives, Judges, District Attorney, District Clerk, Commissioner and Justices of the Peace.

There are 130,962 registered voters in Smith County.

Voters will be required to produce identification to cast their ballots. Voter ID laws require one of these approved forms of voter ID: Texas driver's license, a Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), a Texas personal ID card issued by DPS, a license to carry a handgun issued by DPS, a U.S. military ID with a photo, a U.S. citizenship certificate with a photo or a U.S. passport.

If a voter has a reasonable impediment to obtaining one of the seven forms of approved photo ID, the voter may vote by signing a declaration at the polls explaining why the voter is unable to obtain one of the seven forms of approved photo ID, and providing one of various forms of supporting documentation. The supporting documents include an original, certified birth certificate; a valid voter registration certificate; or a copy or original of one of the following: current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck or other government document that shows the voter's name and an address.

For more information on voter ID information, go to

For more Smith County Election Day information, please visit here or call the Smith County Elections Office at 903-590-4777.