Chicago felon sentenced for trafficking meth, heroin in East Texas

Published: Nov. 14, 2019 at 10:59 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

EAST TEXAS (KLTV) - According to the U.S. Attorney’s Office, a 44-year-old Chicago, Illinois, man has been sentenced to federal prison for drug trafficking violations in the Eastern District of Texas.

James L. Morgan was found guilty on April 26, 2019, of possession with intent to distribute methamphetamine and being a felon in possession of a firearm following a four-day trial before U.S. District Judge Robert W. Schroeder, III.

Morgan was sentenced to 160 months in federal prison on Thursday.

According to information presented in court, on Sept. 28, 2017, Morgan was stopped by Texas DPS troopers on Hwy 30 near Mount Pleasant, Texas, for failing to maintain a single lane of traffic. During the traffic stop, Morgan fled on foot while a passenger, Antonio Alexander Lee, got back in the vehicle and drove away before being stopped by spike strips in Bowie County, Texas.

Morgan was apprehended on a rural county road after crossing all lanes of Hwy 30 on foot and jumping a barbed wire fence. A search of the vehicle revealed more than 75 grams of actual methamphetamine, a loaded firearm, a digital scale and approximately one gram of heroin. Further investigation revealed Morgan was a convicted felon and prohibited from owning or possessing firearms or ammunition.

Morgan and Lee were indicted by a federal grand jury on Oct. 18, 2017.

Lee pleaded guilty to conspiracy to possess a controlled substance and was sentenced to 94 months in federal prison on Aug. 21, 2018.

This case was investigated by the Texas Department of Public Safety, Criminal Investigation and Highway Patrol Divisions; Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives; U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration; Titus County Sheriff’s Office; Bowie County Sheriff’s Office; and the Cass County District Attorney’s Office. The case was prosecuted by Assistant U.S. Attorneys Allen Hurst, Jonathan R. Hornok and Graham Jones.

Copyright 2019 KLTV. All rights reserved.