Matthew McConaughey joins as Texas Legislature honors Longview Lobos

WATCH: Matthew McConaughey joins as Lobos are honored at State Capitol

LONGVIEW, TX (KLTV) - Matthew McConaughey joined the Longview Lobos as they are honored in front of the Texas House of Representatives.

The state champions were honored in front of the 86th Texas Legislature on March 6. Hollywood movie star and Longview ISD graduate, Matthew McConaughey joined the team as they were honored in the House of Representatives.

Quarterback Haynes King, wide receiver Kamden Perry and running back Jessie Anderson received shout-outs during the honor along with the Lobos head coach John King.

The team defeated Beaumont West Brook 35-34 in December to claim the 6A Division II state championship title. It was the first time the school claimed the championship since 1937, 81 years before this win.

A resolution has been filed honoring the Lobos’ big win. In February, State Rep. Jay Dean filed a r

esolution that congratulated the Longview Lobos on their win. Dean represents District 7, which encompasses Gregg and Upshur County

The game was played in front of 48,000 fans at AT&T Stadium in Arlington on December 22, 2018.

According to a press release from Representative Dean’s office, "This morning Rep. Jay Dean passed House Resolution 357 in honor of the 6A Division 2 State Championship-winning Longview Lobos. The day began with private visits with with Governor Abbott--who grew up in Longview--and Longview High Alumnus Matthew McConaughey, Class of 1988. The team then moved to the House of Representatives where Rep. Dean recognized the team and passed House Resolution 357.

Upon the team’s departure, Dean stated: “What a day! So proud of these kids. They did a great job representing our community and left a real impression on our Capitol this morning. This event was all about the players and coaches, but I want to thank the Governor and Mr. McConaughey for accepting my invitation to join us in recognition of our city. Go Lobos!”

Copyright 2019 KLTV. All rights reserved.