Tyler high school students to be honored

Posted by Ellen Krafve - email

TYLER, TX - The top twenty graduating seniors, National Merit Commended Students and Maland Memorial Scholarship recipients of John Tyler and Robert E. Lee high schools will be honored at the Tyler ISD Foundation's premier event, A Night of Shining Stars this spring.

"This group of 44 students represents the best and the brightest Tyler ISD has to offer- the students who will be the future leaders of our community, state, and nation," said Larry Goddard, Executive Director for the Tyler ISD Foundation.

A Night of Shining Stars is all about giving students the accolades they deserve for academic excellence, but it is also an opportunity for them to each honor the Tyler ISD teacher who has made the greatest impact on their lives as students.  The teachers chosen will be honored alongside the students who select them.

Catherine Harrison, Vice President of programs for the Tyler ISD Foundation, along with Board Director Gary Howell, Director of Secondary Education, Dr. Karen Raney and Superintendent, Dr. Randy Reid visited both high schools to announce this year's A Night of Shining Stars Honorees.

Each student was congratulated in front of their peers and informed of the event's purpose.  The Tyler ISD Foundation has also been working with Celia Tucker, College and Career Counselor at Robert E. Lee and Katherine Elmore, Advanced Placement Coordinator at John Tyler, to make A Night of Shining Stars a fun event for the students and their families.

This year's honorees include: Stefania Aldana, Katie Anderson, Filip Andonovski, Azael Arizpe, Katelynn Badger, Alex Baldwin, Bethany Barton, Shehzad Batliwala, Candace Black, Hannah Bosley, Cornelius Burns, Katherine Coburn, Shuntel Coleman, Kenneth Conner, Erica Cornejo, Celia Correa, Summer Davis, Jesse Delgado, Ahmed El-Kishky, Beth Felix, Briana Frost, Kalah Hicks, Matt Hurst, Kristin Johnson, Caleb Ketcham, Jonathan Knight, Geronimo Leon, Karina Leon, Beth Ann McCloskey, Jennifer Menard, Wesley Morse, Ke'Undra Mumphrey, Hien Nguyen, Rachel Oliver, Andrew Peacock, Hayden Pottkotter, Mike Rebollar, Gabriel Rosenfield, Melesio Silva, Mika Smith, Cameron Staton, Skylar Talley, and Edith Valle.