Sulphur Springs wins first state football crown

Sulphur Springs is the winner of the highest-scoring 11-man championship game in Texas history. Tyrik Rollison accounted for seven touchdowns today in a 69-49 victory against Dayton for the class 4A Division II title. Rollison passed for four touchdowns, ran for three more and compiled 517 yards total offense in a game that produced 1,402 total yards and 17 touchdowns.

The 118 points were by far the most in an 11-man title game. The previous record was 92 in 1996 when Lewisville beat Converse Judson 58-34 to win the class 5A Division I championship. The six-man championship game scoring record is 152 points.

The Wildcats (14-2) amassed 784 yards. Rollison was 22-of-29 passing for 398 yards. He rushed 22 times for 119 yards. Dayton (13-2) produced 618 yards offense, led by 330 yards passing from Cody Green.