Research Grant Awarded To UT Tyler Professor

Dr. Tanya Shtoyko, assistant professor of chemistry at The University of Texas at Tyler, is a spring 2008 recipient of the Cottrell College Science Award from the Research Corporation, Dr. Arlene Horne, associate vice president for research and federal relations, announced.

The award, in the amount of $37,664, is a two-year research grant sponsored by the foundation, which is the second established in the U.S. and the only one devoted to the advancement of science. Collaborating with the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth, Shtoyko will investigate surface-enhance fluorescence on different substrates and in micro cavities.

UT Tyler undergraduate students Abby Roth of Wills Point and Khady Camara of Dakar, Senegal will assist Shtoyko on the project.

"We will develop gold and silver nano-deposits as well as fractal-like structures for fluorescence biosensing," said Shtoyko. "This is primary research which will hopefully lead up to developing electrochemical and optical sensors for environmental and medical applications."

A UT Tyler faculty member since 2004, Shtoyko holds a Ph.D. in chemistry with a specialization in analytical chemistry from the University of Cincinnati in Ohio. She received the Thomas Cameron Prize for Excellence in Teaching in May 2000 and has published numerous conference papers and publications.

Founded in 1912, Research Corporation is the fulfillment of the unique philanthropic concept of Frederick Gardner Cottrell, scientist inventor and philanthropist, who established it with the assistance of Smithsonian Institution secretary Charles Doolittle Walcott.

Research Corporation has been able to make grants of over $150 million to support projects independently proposed by academic scientists.
For more information, visit