Tyler Police Honor Their Best And Brightest

They serve and protect us, and tonight they are recognized for their valor and bravery.

The Tyler Police Department held its annual awards banquet this evening, honoring exemplary members both civilian and sworn officers.

Recognition was given to those involved in the shooting of DPS Trooper Steven Stone and the fatal shooting of Constable Dale Geddie in 2006.

Awards were handed out tonight not only to those involved in dangerous situations such as these, but also to those who do a good job day in and day out.



Officer of the Year - Steve Black

Plainclothes Officer of the year - Karl Pottkotter

Rookie of the Year - Michelle Brock

Sworn Supervisor of the Year - Sgt. Jeff Callaway

Unit of the Year - Propoert Crimes Division

(sgt. Eddie Sheffield, Det. Karl Pottkotter, Det. Gregg Roberts, Det. R.M. Smith, Det. John Partlow, Det. Richard Cashell, Det. Gary King,                                                Det. Johnny Green, Det. Don rutledge, Det. Rodney Harrington, Public Service Officers Shawn Hampton and Shanon Hayes)

Civilian Supervisor of the year - Michael McGregor

Civilian Employee of the Year - Stella Robinson

Volunteer of the Year - Richard and Shirley Eckerle

Tyler Patrolman's Association Awards:

Presidents Award - Bill Lemmert

Excellence Award - Bill Horton

Citizens Certificate of Merit:

Ron Garrett for his assistance during the attempted forgery in progress at Regions Bank on December 21, 2006.

Augustus Asbell and David Guyton for their assistance during the robber in progress at Food Fast on W. Houston on January 25, 2007.

Pierce Moore for his design and fabrication of numerous devices used for training officers.

Certificate of Excellence:

Gleith Green

Certificate of Merit:

Officer Robbie Matthews

Deputy Marshal Anton Slavich for his continued support and assistance to the department in criminal investigations.

Life Saving Award:

Lt. Derreck Wagoner

Sgt. Jeff Rackliff

KLTV 7 congratulates all the winners and thanks all the officer for their service to our community!