It's A Sweep! White Sox Beat Astros In Four Straight

For the first time in 88 years the Chicago White Sox can call themselves World Series champions. Jermaine Dye singled home the tiebreaking run in the eighth inning to give the White Sox a 1-0 victory over the Houston Astros. The White Sox earned their third World Series title by completing a four-game sweep of the Astros. The Southsiders knocked off the Cubs to win the 1906 Fall Classic before downing the New York Giants in '17. Two years later, the notorious Black Sox dropped the World Series to the Cincinnati Reds, losing five of the eight games. Eight members of the losing team were eventually suspended for life for allegedly conspiring with gamblers to throw the series. It took another 40 years before the White Sox would win an AL pennant. But they dropped the 1959 World Series to the Los Angeles Dodgers in six games. A great postseason turned sour in a hurry for Brad Lidge. The Houston Astros' closer absorbed two losses in the World Series, including the Game-Four clincher. Lidge's problems began in the NLCS after he saved three straight games against St. Louis. He served up a two-out, three-run homer to Albert Pujols in the ninth inning of Game Five, extending the series. Lidge surrendered the game-winning, solo homer to Scott Podsednik in the ninth inning in Game Two of the World Series. Podsednik hadn't homered all season before going deep off Lidge. Lidge entered Game Four after Brandon Backe scattered five hits over seven shutout innings. Lidge gave up a leadoff single to Willie Harris before Jermaine Dye singled him home with two outs.