CTCU, Tyler ISD announces 2018 District Teachers of the Year

CTCU, Tyler ISD announces 2018 District Teachers of the Year
Yvonne Malstrom (Source: TISD)
Casey Graves (Source: TISD)
Casey Graves (Source: TISD)

TYLER, TX (KLTV) - Cooperative Teachers Credit Union and Tyler ISD announced the 2018 Teachers of the Year at the annual Teacher of the Year Banquet, Tuesday night.

The District honored 30 campus teachers of the year before naming Yvonne Malmstrom, third-grade math and science teacher at Caldwell Elementary Arts Academy, as District Elementary Teacher of the Year.

"Teaching is not just my profession, it is my calling," Ms. Malmstrom said. "In a world that is often filled with uncertainty, I want to be the agent of change that empowers each child to shoot for the stars and reach their greatest potential. All of that can be achieved through the value my parents instilled in me – a great education."

Casey Graves, sixth grade English Language Arts and Reading (ELAR) teacher at Hubbard Middle School, was named District Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The District winners will compete at the regional level this summer.

Cooperative Teachers Credit Union was the lead sponsor for the celebratory event.

TISD also presented the Rookie of the Year award to recognize a teacher who demonstrates outstanding performance and superior instruction skills during their first year of teaching. The 2018 Rookie of the Year award was given to Jessilyn Taylor from Jones Elementary School.

More than 500 guests attended the banquet, including Tyler ISD staff, administrators, teachers, sponsors, and community members.

Copyright 2018 KLTV. All rights reserved.