LIVE Blog: Election results and live coverage

LIVE Blog: Election results and live coverage

EAST TEXAS (KLTV) - The 2018 primary elections are underway and it's a big night for candidates across the nation.

Tonight we'll take a look at what's happening around the state and in East Texas.

Several candidates are running uncontested. Candidates who face no opponents in the general election will effectively be poised to take their oaths of office after the primaries. Here's who's running unopposed.

+JOIN THE CONVERSATION: We'll also have live updates via our social media platforms. To join in the conversation, click here

Some things to keep in mind – if a candidate does not have a challenger from the opposing party, the person they defeat in their own party could declare their status as an Independent and run against them in the November general election. A newcomer could also jump in as an independent.

Some races have been quite contentious and have generated a lot of conversation. We took a close look at the top races and the candidates who could be representing East Texans if they win your vote.


*Will update as voting results are announced.
*(I) designates Incumbent.

7 P.M.

Polls close across the state.

7:15 p.m.

State results are beginning to roll in now along with early voting results from East Texas counties. Check results here.

7:50 p.m.

Smith County District Attorney candidate Jacob Putman is currently leading Alicia Barkley. Putman has 6,170 votes to Barkley's 4,412.

In the U.S. House of Representatives Dist. 1 race, Rep. Louie Gohmert (I), leads with 5,333 votes to Anthony Culler's 558 and Roshin Rowjee's 156 votes.

Early results are also rolling in for Angelina County. Don Lymbery has 2,451 votes to Wes Suiter's (I) 1,732.

8:22 p.m.

Wood County has several important races, including a race for County Judge. Lucy Hebron (R) so far has 54% of the vote, with 86% of counties reporting.

Also, County Commissioner for Precinct 4 has two men battling for the Republican nomination: Russell Acker and Jon Shirley. So far, Acker has 67% of the vote.

In federal races, the Texas Tribune notes that as of 8:18 p.m., Beto O'Rourke has 62% of the vote against two other relatively unknown candidates, Edward Kimbrough and Sema Hernandez in the race for Democratic US Senator.

Texas Tribune calls the Republican Primary for Governor Greg Abbott. He has won the nomination. 
They called the Republican primary for Lt. Governor for Dan Patrick. He has won the nomination. 
They also called the US Senate Republican primary for Ted Cruz.

8:50 p.m.

Don Lymbery is leading in the race for Angelina County judge with 2,451 votes to incumbent Wes Suiter's 1,732 votes.

9:11 p.m.

9:18 p.m.

Unofficial election results are in Frankly County. Betty Sue Allen (I) is the Treasurer for Franklin County with 62% of the vote. Larkin Jumper (I) wins the election for Franklin County Commissioner for Precinct 2 with 52% of the vote. Robert W. Zinn is Franklin County's Justice of the Peace, winning the election with 42% of the vote.

9:59 p.m. 

Final results are in for Wood County races. Lucy Hebron is the Wood County Judge, winning the race with 54% of the vote. In the Wood County Justice of the Peace for Precinct 2 ended with Janae Holland winning with 54% of the vote. In the race for Wood County District Clerk, Donna Huston won with 55% of the vote. Russell Acker (I) won the Wood County Commissioner for Precinct 4 with 68% of the vote.

Rusk County has their final election results. In the race for Rusk County Commisisoner for Precinct 2, Robert Kuykendall won with 58% of the vote. Bennie Whitworth won the race for Rusk County Commissioner for Precinct 4 with 61% of the vote. The Rusk County Justice of the Peace races ended with Pat McCrory winning with 50% of the vote for Precinct 1, Cindy Redmon winning for Precinct 2 with 36% of the vote and Jana Ross Enloes winning for Precinct 5 with 64%.

10:05 p.m.

Nacogdoches County Election believes there are possible run off elections between Greg Sowell and Mike Perry (I) for Nacogdoches County Judge, Mark Harkness and Darren Cook for Commissioner in Prencict 4.

10:15 p.m. 

A.P. reports that Beto O'Rourke will win the primary election for the Democratic Senator candidate and will face off against incumbent Republican U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz. Former Dallas County Sherriff Lupe Valdez and Houston investor Andrew White are headed to Democratic runoff election for the bid to race against Republican Gov. Greg Abbott.

10:26 p.m.

10:30 p.m.

Final results for Smith County are in. In the race for Smith County District Attorney, Jacob Putman won 56% of the vote against Alicia Barkley with 44% of the vote. The race for Smith County 321st District Court, Robert Wilson won with 55% of the vote. Penny Clarkston won the race for Smith County District Clerk with 61% of the vote. The race for Smith County Commissioner, Precinct 4 (Democrat) ended with JoAnn Hampton (I) winning with 55% of the vote.  Jon Wayne Johnson won the race for the Smith County Justice of the Peace for Precinct 5 with 59%.