East Texas couple recognized by Texas House of Representatives

AUSTIN, TX (KLTV) - An East Texas couple was honored by the Texas House of Representatives for their community philanthropy work on Thursday.

Mike and Amy Clements, of Gregg County, were recognized Representative Jay Dean in H.R. 937, which details the Energy Weldfab owners' advocacy and support for worthy causes.

Energy Weldfab is a White Oak-based oil and gas processing equipment for companies across North America.

In the resolution, Dean commended the couple for donating millions of dollars to many causes, nonprofits and organizations since 2006 and giving back to the East Texas community.

They have contributed to scholarship funds and given support to the athletic programs at their alma mater Kilgore College, which helped them get inducted into its Athletics Hall of Fame.

Their contributions include: The University of Texas System, Texas Wesleyan University, and the Sabine, Pine Tree, and White Oak Independent School Districts, two area women's shelters, to the East Texas Treatment Center and HeartsWay Hospice, the Longview Animal Care and Adoption Center, Dean said in the resolution.

Dean added that they have donated vehicles to the Kilgore Fire Department, the East Texas Oil Museum, Pink Heals of Gregg County, and the Brother's Keepers Motorcycle Club.

They are also supporters of various organizations like the Boys and Girls Clubs of Austin, the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation, the First Tee of the Piney Woods, and the Longhorn Foundation.

Mike Clements has earned the title of board member for Gregg County Emergency Services District No. 2 and Mid-America Christian University and president and scholarship committee chair for the American Petroleum Institute, Dean said.

"…Demonstrating an unwavering commitment to their fellow citizens, Mike and Amy Clements have contributed greatly to the quality of life in Gregg County and beyond, and they are truly deserving of recognition for their generosity and leadership…," Dean said.

Copyright 2017 KLTV. All rights reserved.