Smith County Election Day information

From Smith County:

Tuesday, November 8, 2016, is Election Day.

Voters cast ballots at the polls in record numbers during the two weeks of early voting in Smith County. A reported 58,357 people voted October 24 through November 4. There were 50,567 people who cast ballots during early voting in the 2012 Presidential Election.
There are 135,185 people registered to vote in Smith County. There were 102,626 registered voters in the 2012 General Election.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. for Election Day tomorrow. Registered voters will be able to cast their ballots at ANY of the 34 vote centers throughout the county.

Those people who choose to vote at the downtown Tyler location, the R.B. Hubbard Center, at 304 E. Ferguson, can park in the Juror Parking Lot across the street from the facility. There will be no jury duty on Election Day. Parking meters around the immediate area are marked free during voting.

Smith County will be posting voting information to social media, @SmithCountyNews on Twitter and 
For election results after the polls close, visit: or

Tip for Voters: If you search "where do I vote in Texas," Google will ask you to enter in your address and respond with the three closest polling locations.

On Election Day, Smith County voters may vote at ANY location listed below:


•    Bell Elementary, 1409 Hankerson Street 
•    New Harmony Baptist Church, 10251 Farm-to-Market Road 724
•    Rose Heights Church of God, 2120 Old Omen Road
•    Old Tyler Airport, 150 Airport Drive
•    St Louis Baptist Church, 4000 Frankston Highway
•    Red Springs Fire Department, 16759 FM 14
•    Boulter Middle School, 2926 Garden Valley Road 
•    Chapel Hill High School, 13172 Highway 64 East
•    Glass Recreation Center, 501 W. 32nd Street
•    Jackson Elementary School, 16406 FM 2767
•    Heritage Building, 1900 W. Bellwood Road
•    Crossbrand Cowboy Church, 11915 FM 2015
•    The HUB, 304 E. Ferguson Ave.
•    Jones/Broshears Elementary, 3450 Chandler Highway
•    TJ Austin Elementary School, 1105 W. Franklin Street
•    Bethel Bible Church, 17121 Highway 69 South
•    Broadway Church of Christ, 100 Cumberland Road
•    Noonday Community Center, 16662 County Road 196
•    First Baptist Church-Gresham, 16844 County Road 165
•    First Church of the Nazarene, 3700 Old Bullard Road
•    Three Lakes Middle School, 2445 Three Lakes Parkway
•    Shiloh Road Church of Christ, 1801 Shiloh Road
•    Dover Baptist Church, 21166 FM 1995

•    Arp First Baptist Church, 304 W. Front

•    Bullard First Methodist Church, 204 Rather Street

•    Flint Baptist Church, 11131 FM 2868

•    Hideaway Member Service Building, 101 Hideaway Lane Central

•    Lillie Russell Memorial Library (Lindale Public Library), 200 E. Hubbard Street

•    Cameron Jarvis Library, 102 S Georgia Street

•    Hillcreek Baptist Church, 14749 Highway 110 South
•    Mt. Carmel Baptist Church, 10519 FM 344 East
•    Whitehouse Municipal Court, 311 E. Main Street

•    Starrville Church of the Living God, 18396 Highway 271
•    Victor Kay Gymnasium, 605 Wildcat Drive


Smith County voters who cannot obtain one of the seven approved forms of photo identification now have additional options at the polls.
As provided by a court order, if a voter has a reasonable impediment to obtaining one of the seven forms of approved photo ID, the voter may vote by (1) signing a declaration at the polls explaining why the voter is unable to obtain one of the seven forms of approved photo ID, and (2) providing one of various forms of supporting documentation.

Supporting documentation can be an original, certified birth certificate, a valid voter registration certificate, a copy or original of one of the following: current utility bill, bank statement, government check, or paycheck, or other government document that shows the voter's name and an address. Government documents which include a photo must be original and cannot be copies. If a voter meets these requirements and is otherwise eligible to vote, the voter will be able to cast a regular ballot in the election.

The seven forms of approved photo ID are:
•    Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)
•    Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS
•    Texas personal identification card issued by DPS
•    Texas license to carry a handgun issued by DPS
•    United States military identification card containing the person's photograph
•    United States citizenship certificate containing the person's photograph
•    United States passport

Voters can learn more by visiting or calling 1-800-252-VOTE.