TCU's Trevone Boykin wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award - - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

TCU's Trevone Boykin wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

TCU QB Trevone Boykin won the 2015 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award. TCU QB Trevone Boykin won the 2015 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.
TYLER, TX (KLTV) - Some of the best in college football were in Tyler on Wednesday night. We had a national champion, a Big 12 champion, and an NCAA record holder all whom had a chance to win The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

It may not be the Heisman Trophy, but the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award certainly carries a lot of weight in both the state and here in East Texas.

Three of the five finalists in Trevone Boykin, Samaje Perine, and J.T. Barrett were in the Rose City on Wednesday night to take part in the ceremony and meet the legend himself, Earl Campbell.

"It was great, he is a character," Oklahoma running back Samaje Perine said. "In the short time that I got to talk to him, he is a funny guy. This is something that I did not want to miss on."

TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin added, "Even to be mentioned with him is a blessing. I mean it's something you dream about as a football player. It's really a blessing really just to sit down with him and know everything that he has accomplished and everything that he has done is really amazing."

Now in its second year of existence, Campbell takes pride in presenting the award to the best offensive player in college football with Texas ties.

"I was thinking yesterday about the guys that were going to be here, all five of them," Campbell said. "It wasn't long ago I was right in college and I had a dream. I think its really great how the city of Tyler and the committee along with my boys, Cindy Smoak and those kind people, and the city have gotten involved in it, I think its great."

Emcee Ron Franklin added, "Earl was constantly always the Tyler Rose, and he was more than willing to promote Tyler, Texas. And now its like the City is showing its love in return. Its growing and its a good thing. It's a healthy thing for the city, it's a healthy thing for Earl."

Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty took home the award in 2014, and while he was finalist again this year, there was no repeat winner.

TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin took home the 2015 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose award after leading the Horned Frogs to a 12 and 1 season while accounting for over 4,600 total yards and 41 touchdowns.

"I mean as you can see I was sweating man," Boykin said. "Its a honor and a blessing to even be mentioned with that guy. The only thing I can really do is represent him from now on and knowing that you just have to make right decisions."

Boykin is set to return next season for TCU so we will be seeing a lot more of the electrifying quarterback.

Copyright 2015 KLTV. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Frankly