Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List announced

Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List announced

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

The Watch List announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to 4 finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and the previous winner. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for January 14, 2015.

This year's Watch List (complete list attached) includes:

* 43 players from 9 different conferences including 3 independents (ACC, AAC, Big 10,Big 12, CUSA, MWC, Pac 12, SEC, Sunbelt)

* Players representing Universities from 22 different states

* Wide receivers dominate the nominations with 17, followed by running backs (12), quarterbacks (8), tight ends (3), fullbacks (2), halfback (1)

* Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty, last year's award recipient, is again on the Watch List

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award was announced in 2012 by the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce and SPORTyler. "We are fortunate to have a celebrity who exhibits the impeccable virtues that define this award. In addition to being a well known sports figure, Earl also earned a college degree, married his high school sweetheart, raised two successful sons, and still supports the community where he grew up," said Cindy Smoak, Vice President, SPORTyler.

Earl Campbell graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before joining the University of Texas Longhorns under legendary Coach Darrell K. Royal. In his senior year, he led the nation with 1,744 yards rushing and 19 touchdowns, going on to win the Longhorns' first Heisman Trophy.

He was subsequently drafted by the Houston Oilers where he won Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing 3 times. Campbell earned NFL MVP in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. He now resides in Austin.

"All my life, all I wanted to do was be an athlete. I kept God in my life and surrounded myself with good people. I am humbled by this award named in my honor," said Campbell.


Jay Ajayi, Boise State, Running Back, RS/JuniorRoss Apo, BYU, Wide Receiver, Senior

Trevone Boykin TCU Quarterback, Junior

Michael Brewer, Virginia Tech, Quarterback, Graduate

Malcolm Brown, Texas, Running Back, Senior

Damon Bullock, Iowa, Running Back, Senior

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback, Senior

David Cobb, Minnesota, Running Back, Senior

Noah Copeland, Navy, Fullback, Senior

Devante Davis, UNLV, Wide Receiver, Senior

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa, Wide Receiver, Junior

Antwan Goodley, Baylor Universit,y Wide Receiver, Senior

D.D. Goodson, Colorado, Wide Receiver, Senior

Treyvon Green, Northwestern, Running Back, Senior

Deontay Greenberry, Houston, Wide Receiver, Junior

Nick Harwell, Kansas, Wide Receiver, Senior

Rashard Higgins, Colorado State, Wide Receiver, Sophomore

Nathan Jeffery, UTEP, Running Back, Senior

Aaron Jones, UTEP, Running Back, Sophomore

Kam Jones, UTSA, Wide Receiver, Senior

Darius Joseph, SMU, Wide Receiver, Junior

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback, Senior

Malcome Kennedy, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver, Senior

Trevor Knight, Oklahoma, Quarterback, RS/Sophomore

Shock Linwood, Baylor University, Running Back, Sophomore

Logan Lister, Rutgers University, Tight End, Freshman

Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver, Senior

Jimmay Mundine, Kansas, Tight End, Graduate

Bryce Petty, Baylor University, Quarterback, Senior

Adam Roberts, San Diego State, Fullback, Senior

Larry Rose III, New Mexico State, Running Back, Freshman

Jameill Showers, UTEP, Quarterback, Senior

Zachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End, Senior

Jordan Taylor, Rice, Wide Receiver, Senior

Jordan Thompson, West Virginia, Wide Receiver, Junior

Jamal Turner, Nebraska, Wide Receiver, Senior

Trenton Turrentine, Army, Running Back, Senior

Davis Webb, Texas Tech, Quarterback, Sophomore

DeAndrew White, Alabama, Wide Receiver, Senior

Shane Williams-Rhode, Boise State, Wide Receiver, Junior

Trey Williams, Texas A&M, Running Back, Junior

Dontre Wilson, Ohio State, Half Back, Sophomore

Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back, Junior