Tyler fire department holds 23rd annual awards banquet - KLTV.com - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

Tyler fire department holds 23rd annual awards banquet

Released by the Tyler Fire Department:

The Tyler Fire Department held its Twenty-Third Annual Awards Banquet Saturday, March 29, 2014, at 6:00 p.m. at the Tyler Rose Garden. During the ceremony, firefighters, along with retired firefighters and civilians were honored for their actions and service to the City of Tyler.

Firefighter Association Award:

· Mayor Barbara Bass

· Holly Short, Ganache

Chief’s Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to:

· Loretta Kuhn and Cheryl Coffee – Regional Advisory Council

· Jim Seaton – Smith County Fire Marshal’s Office

· Matt and Tori Jenkins – Bra’s for the Cause

· Larry Crowson – Tyler Firefighter and Brookshire’s FRESH 15 Bicycle Team

· Kelly and Stephanie Shirley – Combat Challenge volunteers

· Serena Butcher – City of Tyler: Cooking with Fire - Production

· Stephen Self – City of Tyler: Cooking with Fire - Cameraman

Chief’s Certificates of Merit were awarded to:

· David Hickey and Russell Jowell – Won recent PD Shooting Competition

· Laura Mason – Work on CISM team

· James Suggs – Work on criminal investigations in the Fire Marshal’s Office

· Terry Hawkins, Brandon Davis, Brent Hail, Jeff Barnett and Randy Lee – Combat Challenge (Over 40) Team: Cotton Bowl Invitational / Qualified for the World Combat Challenge in Las Vegas, NV

· Brent Hail – Coordination of bringing the National Firefighter Combat Challenge to Tyler

· James Seaton, Mark Baker, Zach Sutton and Tim McCawley – Representation of TFD at recent funeral for retired Dallas Firefighter.

· TFD Soccer Team – Gold Medal / Division 3 (4th year in a row to win Gold): Tony Gumber, Jason Beasley, Greg Crenshaw, Mason Edney, Eric Rozell, Bruce Hill, Logan Luttrell, Chris Mahler, Terence Thedford, Steven Wieczor, Shawn Wilson and Lucas Terry

· Marjorie Vallejo – Staff Support

· Marty Lawrence – Work on Lean Sigma Projects / Department Business Plan

· Paul Findley – Acceptance to National Fire Academy – EFO Program

Special Recognition:

Greenberg Smoked Turkey, Inc.

East Texas Emergency Medical Service

Brookshire Grocery Company

Our Saviour’s Lutheran Church Quilter’s Group

Gary Landers, past City Attorney

Individual Awards included:

· Friend of the Department Awards:

o James Gregory and Louis LaBella – Delek Refinery

o Monty and Jackie Ward – Campbell’s Towing

· Community Service Recognition Awards:

o Matt Brown – American Red Cross

o Ralph Caraway and Charles Williams – St. Louis Baptist Church

· Staff Support Award:

o Margaret Carrico

· Legends Awards:

o Howard H. Kennedy, Jr. – Hired on November 17, 1969. Retired on January 1, 2005 with over 35 years of service to the City of Tyler.

o Jerry W. Scott – Hired on May 16, 1968. Retired on December 31, 2003 with over 35 years of service to the City of Tyler.

o John E. Langston – Hired on October 15, 1966. Retired on December 31, 1986 with over 20 years of service to the City of Tyler.

· Outstanding District Award – District 2 C-Shift, led by District Chief Mike Frost

· Leadership Awards:

o Captain Kenneth Langley

o Captain Ross Hamilton

o Captain Morgan Herron

· Phoenix Award (Citizen’s Life Saving Award):

o Cadarius Wheeler – John Tyler High School student

· Life Saving Award:

o Firefighter Kenny Vent

· Firefighter of the Year:

Firefighter Matt Ford

Powered by Frankly