Thirteen named to Expanded Learning Opportunities Council - - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

Thirteen named to Expanded Learning Opportunities Council

From the Texas Education Agency:

AUSTIN – Commissioner of Education Michael Williams has announced the names of 13 individuals to serve as the first members of the Expanded Learning Opportunities Council to study issues related to expanded learning opportunities (such as implementing an extended school day or school year) and review structured programs outside of the regular school day (such as before- and after-school programs and summer programs).

Senate Bill 503 (passed in 2013 by the 83rd Texas Legislature) directs the Commissioner to appoint school and business leaders who have specific expertise and experience in providing expanded learning opportunities for students in public schools. The 13 individuals named to the Council are:

Lizzette Gonzales Reynolds, Chief Deputy Commissioner of Education, Texas Education Agency (Austin)

Terry Conner, Partner, Haynes & Boone (Dallas)

Leila Membreno Hernandez, Associate Professor, UT-Pan American (Edinburg)

Mark Kiester, President & CEO, Boys and Girls Club of the Austin Area (Austin)

Dr. Robert Sanborn, President & CEO, Children at Risk (Houston)

Donna Wasielewski, Program Director, Williamson County Juvenile Services (Austin)

Aimee Clapp, Elementary School Teacher, Ysleta ISD (El Paso)

 Dr. Kurt Hulett, Middle School Principal, Killeen ISD (Killeen)

  Mynder Kelly, High School Teacher, Sulphur Springs ISD (Sulphur Springs)

  Dr. Jodi Durón, Superintendent, Elgin ISD (Elgin)

Terese Stevenson, Senior Program Officer, Rees-Jones Foundation (Dallas)

Angel Toscano, Manager of After School Programs, ACTIVE Life (Austin)

Susan Baskin, Co-owner and Director, Camp Champions (Marble Falls)

Members will develop a comprehensive statewide action plan that focuses on innovative, hands-on learning approaches to complement current school curriculum. The council will meet at least three times a year and must submit a report by Nov. 1 of each even-numbered year to the Governor, both chambers of the Legislature and the Texas Education Agency.

Powered by Frankly