Baylor QB Bryce Petty wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award - - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

Baylor QB Bryce Petty wins Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty won the inaugural Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Friday night.  Petty received the Award from the Tyler Rose himself at Willow Brook Country Club in Tyler.

Petty was one of five finalist for the award.  Petty and Texas Tech tight end Jace Amaro were the only finalists to attend the ceremony.  Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M wide receiver Mike Evans and Mizzou quarterback James Franklin were also up the for the award.

"Anytime you get to have your name on the first of anything, its good," said Petty.  "Like I said it's a privledge.  I have alot of things running through my mind right now, but I cant tell you how excited I am."

Campbell was happy Petty could attend to accept the award.

"I kind of associate with him kind of like me being the first at the University of Texas to win the Heisman Trophy," said Campbell.  "Its going to be pretty heavy, because his name is going to change from Bryce Petty to the first winner of the Earl Campbell Award Bryce Petty."

Petty is the only finalist that will return to school in 2014, giving him a chance to win the award a second time.

"As my sons said on stage we would like to welcome him to our family and hopefully to the city of Tyler family," said Campbell. 

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year D1 Texas college.

Powered by Frankly