Tyler Announces Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award semi-finalists

TYLER, Texas – This year many talented athletes with ties to the state of Texas have emerged as candidates for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.  Sixteen semi-finalists have been selected by The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Selection Committee.

The 2013 semi-finalists are:

Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Tight End, Junior – San Antonio, TX (MacArthur HS)

Kolton Browning, ULM, Quarterback, Senior – Mabank, TX (Mabank HS)

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback, Junior – Houston, TX (Houston, Episcopal HS

David Cobb, Minnesota, RB, Junior – Killeen, TX (Ellison HS)

Mike Evans, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver, Sophomore – Galveston, TX (Ball HS)

James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback, Senior – Corinth, TX (Lake Dallas HS)

Garrett Gilbert, SMU, Quarterback, Senior – Austin, TX (Lake Travis HS)

Antwan Goodley, Baylor, Wide Receiver, Junior – Midland, TX (Midland HS)

Johnathan Gray, Texas, Running Back, Junior – Aledo, TX (Aledo HS)

Marion Grice, Arizona State University, Running Back, Senior – Houston, TX (Aldine Nimitz)

Jeremy Johnson, SMU, Wide Receiver, Senior – Tyler, TX (John Tyler HS)

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback, Sophomore – Kerrville, TX (Tivy HS)

Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback, Junior – Midlothian, HS (Midlothian TX)

Tevin Reese, Baylor, Wide Receiver, Senior – Temple, TX (Temple HS)

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, Running Back, Junior – Temple, TX (Temple HS)

Charles Sims, West Virginia University, Running Back, Graduate – Houston, TX (Westbury HS)

Finalists will be selected from this group and announced on December 9, 2013.  The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 10, 2014.  Thank you to the award sponsors:  American State Bank, Citizen's 1st Bank, Kitchens Unique, Tyler Morning Telegraph, Harold Beaird, R.W. Fair Foundation, Clements Fluids Management, Patterson Commercial Property Group, Chesley and Ted W. Walters, Texas Spine and Joint, Austin Bank, Billy Hibbs, Prothro Wilhelmi & Company, Paul and Kay Latta.