Watch list announced for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award - - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

Watch list announced for Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award

The first annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Watch List was announced Wednesday at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon.

The award recognizes the top offensive player in Division 1 football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.  

The Watch List announced today will be narrowed to up to 16 semi finalists in November and then up to 4 finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and (in the future) former winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for January 10, 2014.

There were 36 names listed on the preseason watch list, including former John Tyler Lion Jeremy Johnson.  Johnson will be a senior wide receiver at SMU. 

Also on the list is Heisman Trophy Winner Johnny Manziel.  Campbell says he'd have no problems with Manziel winning his award.

"I think Johnny is going to be just fine," said Campbell.  "I used to be 20 years old. He's had some problems, but that's part of winning the Heisman is having problems."

Campbell added the only advice he would give Manziel is to 'hang in there.'

"I just hope the young man that wins the award every year, understands the man that the award is named after," said Campbell.  "(I) was his age, went through hard knocks in life just like you did or worse than you did. But he prayed about it and made it."

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award 2013 Watch List

Ross Apo, Brigham Young University, Wide Receiver/Junior;

David Ash, University of Texas, Quarterback/Junior;

Kolton Browning, University of LA/Monroe, Quarterback/Senior;

Damon Bullock, University of Iowa, Running Back/Junior;

Shane Carden, East Carolina, Quarterback/Junior;

Kasey Carrier, New Mexico, Running Back/Senior;

Tim Cornett, UNLV, Running Back/Senior;

Cody Davis, Purdue, Offensive Guard/Senior;

Adam Dingwell, San Diego State, Quarterback/Junior;

Cameron Fleming, Stanford; Offensive Tackle/Senior;

James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback/Senior;

Keyarris Garrett, Tulsa; Wide Receiver/Junior

Ryan Grant, Tulane University, Wide Receiver/Senior;

Deontay Greenberry, University of Houston, Wide Receiver/Sophomore;

Marion Grice, Arizona State University, Running Back/Senior;

John Hubert, Kansas State, Running Back/Senior;

Nathan Jeffrey, UTEP, Running Back/Junior;

Jeremy Johnson, Southern Methodist University, Wide Receiver/Senior;

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State, Quarterback/Junior;

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback/Sophomore;

Venric Mark, Northwestern University, Running Back/Senior;

Ty Montgomery, Stanford, Wide Receiver/Junior;

Casey Pachall, TCU, Quarterback/Senior;

Lache Seastrunk, Baylor, Running Back/Junior;

Charles Sims, West Virginia University, Running Back/Graduate;

James Sims, University of Kansas, Halfback/Senior;

Eric Soza, UTSA, Quarterback/Graduate;

Josh Stewart, Oklahoma State, Receiver/Junior;

Travis Swanson, University of Arkansas, Center/Senior;

Zachary Swanson, Virginia, Tight End/Junior;

Eric Ward, Texas Tech, Wide Receiver/Senior;

James White, Iowa State, Running Back/Senior;

Rodrick Williams, Jr., Minnesota, Running Back/Sophomore;

Connor Wood, Colorado, Quarterback/Junior;

Storm Woods, Oregon State, Running Back/Sophomore.

Powered by Frankly