Disaster Loans for tornado victims

Released by Adrienne Graham with Smith County Commissioners Court:

Residents of Smith County whose property was damaged or destroyed in a January tornado can apply for low-interest emergency disaster loans, the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture announced.

To qualify for the loan, residents must have sustained "severe physical loss" to their property due to the tornado that struck Van Zandt and surrounding counties on January 20, 2010.

The loans are being made available through the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

Please contact their office for more information on this program at 903-561-2050.