East Texas school nominated for 2010 Blue Ribbon honors

Released by the Texas Education Agency:

AUSTIN – Commissioner Robert Scott today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for the 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. The award honors schools for academic excellence and making significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

For the past 27 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 5,800 of America's most successful schools, including almost 500 Texas schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

• schools that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests;

• schools whose students achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

The nominated schools were recommended by an intra–agency committee that examined student achievement statistics for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater. Schools nominated for the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state.

The nominated schools will now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the award winners will be made in September 2010.

Schools that receive the prestigious award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C.

The schools nominated for the Dramatic Improvement category are:

Austin ISD – Dr. Meria J. Carstarphen, superintendent
Dorothy A. Linder Elementary – Beverley Odom, principal

Beaumont ISD – Dr. Carrol Thomas, superintendent
Ogden Elementary – Wayne Wells, principal

Bloomington ISD* – Bradley S Williams, superintendent
Bloomington Elementary – Israel Salinas, principal

Corpus Christi ISD – D. Scott Elliff, superintendent
Marvin Baker Middle – Darla Reid, principal

Houston ISD – Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent
Albert Sidney Johnston Middle – David Wheat, principal
Hurst–Euless–Bedford ISD – Dr. Gene Buinger, superintendent
Central Junior High – Jonathan James, principal
Hurst Junior High – Leslie Guajardo, principal

Jacksonville ISD* – Dr. Joe Wardell, superintendent
Fred Douglass Elementary – Amber Penn, principal

Richardson ISD – Dr. Carolyn G. Bukhair, superintendent
Lake Highlands Junior High – Veronica Escalante, principal

Scurry–Rosser ISD* – Chris Couch, superintendent
Scurry-Rosser Middle – Jason Turner, principal

The schools nominated for the High Performance category are:

Alief ISD* – Dr. Louis B. Stoerner, superintendent
Alief High – Greg Freeman, principal

Dallas ISD – Dr. Michael Hinojosa, superintendent
H.S. Thompson Learning Center – Kamalia Cotton, principal
James B. Bonham Elementary – Sandra Fernandez, principal

Glasscock County ISD* – Steve Long, superintendent
Garden City High – Misty Kinnibrugh, principal

Houston ISD – Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent
J.P. Cornelius Elementary – Karen Jackson, principal
James Burrus Elementary – Jesse Woods, Jr., principal
Oak Forest Elementary – Scott Pollack, principal
Briarmeadow Middle – Peter Heinze, principal

Jacksonville ISD* – Dr. Joe Wardell, superintendent
West Side Elementary – Sandi Jones, principal

La Vega ISD* – Dr. Sharon M. Shields, superintendent
La Vega Elementary – Chris Borland, principal

Lone Oak ISD* – Eddie White, superintendent
Lone Oak Elementary – Judy Steadham, principal

Mason ISD* – Matthews Mason Underwood, superintendent
Mason High – Pam Kruse, principal

Richardson ISD – Dr. Carolyn G. Bukhair, superintendent
Dover Elementary – Brona Comeaux–Hudson, principal

South Texas ISD – Dr. Marla M. Guerra, superintendent
South Texas High School for Health Professions – Barbara Heater, principal

The Varnett School* – M. Annette Cluff, superintendent
The Varnett School – East Campus – Twilet Alexander, principal

United ISD* – Roberto J. Santos, superintendent
Trautmann Elementary – Cynthia Rodriguez, principal

* This is the first Blue Ribbon School nomination for the district.