Winners of Red Ribbon Week essay contest announced - - Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville |ETX News

Winners of Red Ribbon Week essay contest announced

Released by the City of Longview:

LONGVIEW, TX - The City of Longview Partners in Prevention is proud to announce the winners of the 12th annual Red Ribbon Week 4th Grade Essay Contest.  During Red Ribbon Week, over 1,100 essays were written by students from area school districts using 50 words or less to finish the statement, "I am drug free because..." LeTourneau University students judged the essays under the direction of Dr. Kathy Stephens.

An awards luncheon to recognize the grand prize winners and their teachers is scheduled at Noon, Tuesday, November 10, at the LeTourneau University Memorial Student Center, 2100 S. Mobberly Ave.  The winners are from the school districts of Gladewater, Hallsville, Longview, Spring Hill, and White Oak.  The awards luncheon is made possible by LeTourneau University and East Texas Review. 

A complete list of winners is listed below.  For more information contact Brenda Buck with Partners in Prevention at 903-237-1019.

Essay Contest 2009 Grand Prize Winners and Teachers

Gladewater ISD: Kaylee Norris
Teacher: Amy Thompson

Hallsville ISD: Megan Mosley
Teacher: Robbi Mauldin

Longview ISD Bramlette Campus: Arrington Melton
Teacher: Misty Ballenger

Longview ISD Hudson Pep Campus: Drelyn Manning
Teacher: Alison Campbell

Longview ISD Jodie McClure Campus: Lucero Gomez
Teacher: Bema DeLaMora

Longview ISD Mozelle Johnston Campus: Olivia Russell
Teacher: Cherise McIntyre

Longview ISD Ware Campus: Adriana Bonner
Teacher: Wendy Bailey

Spring Hill ISD: Hannah Gossage
Teacher: Reba Jordan

White Oak ISD:  Jackson Crane
Teacher: Shelley Carrington

Essay Runners-Up 2008

Gladewater ISD
Dre'ka Ransom
Malaysia Lucky

Hallsville ISD
Adie Elliott
Jared Cornett

Longview ISD Bramlette Campus
Kamri Na Jai Alexander
Autumn Pierce

Longview ISD Hudson Pep Campus
Ben Murphy
Cameron Lacy

Longview ISD Jodie McClure Campus
Maria Lardin
Alexia Samantha Garcia

Longview ISD Mozelle Johnston Campus
Taylor Hendrix
Tanner Hill

Longview ISD Ware Campus
Deonte Harkless
Destiny McAfee

Spring Hill ISD
Khyzer Davis
T. Taylor

White Oak ISD
Aaron Camp
Wyatt Smith

Powered by Frankly