East Texas Tax Assessor-Collector Honored

Posted by, Jessica Boyd. mail

From the Smith County Public Relations Office:

Smith County Tax Assessor-Collector Gary Barber was recently honored at the annual Tax Assessor Collectors Association (TACA) of Texas conference when he was presented with the prestigious President's award.

Barber was one of two recipients (along with Tavie Murphy of Guadalupe County), hand-picked for the award by current president Becky Watson of Cass County. The President's award goes to individuals each year that demonstrate excellence and professionalism in their tax collection services.

While at the conference in San Antonio, Mr. Barber was also appointed to serve as the President-Elect of the Tax Assessor-Collector's Association and will be sworn-in to office in Abilene in January.

"I am proud to have the opportunity to serve as president during a legislative year. This is a great opportunity for our region to be well represented in Austin," Barber said.

Barber said the Tax Assessor-Collector Association is an organization that provides support to its members and serves as a watchdog group for tax-related legislation in Austin.

"We have a lot of contact with the tax payers in our counties, and we try to look out for any legislation that may affect them," he said.

Barber was elected into office in Smith County in 2005. He has worked for the Smith County Appraisal District, East Texas companies and owned his own business. He graduated from the University of Texas in 1975, received his RPA in 1994 and RTA in 2008.

"TACA is so important to me. Without this organization, I would not have made it through my first year as Tax Assessor-Collector. This is why I want to be active on their board and someday I might help other members, the way they helped me," Barber said.

TACA officers are President Becky Watson of Cass County, President-Elect Gary Barber of Smith County, Vice President External Scott Porter of Wheeler County, Vice President Internal Scott Porter of Johnson County, Secretary/Treasurer Ro'vin Garrett of Brazoria County and Past-President Betsy Price of Tarrant County. Current TACA board members include Teri Garvey of Anderson County, Thelma Sherman of Angelina County, Bobby Biscamp of Jasper County and Jeri Cox of Aransas County.