School charges students $5 or 30 min. detention if late to class - KLTV.com-Tyler, Longview, Jacksonville, Texas | ETX News

School charges students $5 or 30 min. detention if late to class

Posted: Updated:

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH (CNN) - Students at one high school in Utah better hustle to get to class on time or they will be slapped with a fine.

A new policy went into effect this week at East High School in the Salt Lake City School District.

If a student walks in late, they will be fined $5. But, they also have the choice of serving a half-hour detention instead of paying up.

The principal says they have seen an immediate change in behavior. "What I have noticed as an administrator is that students aren't leaning against walls, they're not stopping and talking," said Paul Sagers, School Principal. "There's not enough time, if they want to be in class."

The principal says teachers have total discretion on whether to issue a citation. He says teachers can give students a break if they have a reasonable excuse. Also, students can appeal.

CNN material provided by CNN NEWSOURCE. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by WorldNow

West Ferguson Street
Tyler, TX 75702

FCC Public File
publicfile@kltv.com
903-597-5588
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KLTV. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.